Alliance of Early Universal Museums

To mark the 25th anniversary of the reopening of the Kunst- und Naturalienkammer after the renovation of the Historic Orphanage, the Francke Foundations founded the Alliance of Early Universal Museums together with the Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography »Peter the Great« - Kunstkamera in St. Petersburg (Russia) and the Teylers Museum in Haarlem (Netherlands) and the Wunderkammer expert Arthur MacGregor (Great Britain) on 13 October 2020.

The idea for founding the Alliance is based on the knowledge that the early modern Wunderkammern in Europe were interconnected in many ways.
The aim of the Alliance is to discuss current questions of museum handling of surviving cabinets of curiosities or their preserved components in a broad-based expert committee, to intensify professional expertise, provenance research and the development of future scenarios for the presentation and research of collections, and to publish jointly. Early modern universal collections from all over Europe and beyond are invited to become members of the Alliance.

Wir möchten Sie darauf hinweisen, dass Sie mit Aktivierung dieses Videos die Datenschutzerklärung von Youtube akzeptieren.

Das Mirakel der Wunderkammern. Europas wahre Aufklärung

Founding lecture by Prof. Dr. Horst Bredekamp (German)

Early modern museum collections, often referred to as chambers of art and natural history or chambers of curiosities, are a typical phenomenon of European cultural history. There were numerous collections of this type in very different forms, of which quite a few still exist today.

Annual Programmes- Overview

  • The fourth issue 2020 of the journal »Kunstkamera«, edited by the Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography in St. Petersburg, published the founding of the Alliance. The keynotes of the founding members can be found in the presentation online of the journal.
  • Brill Verlag (Leiden/Boston) published a comprehensive conference volume on the history of Teyler's Foundation in Haarlem in December 2020. The interdisciplinary and lavishly designed book goes back to an international conference in Haarlem in 2017. It was edited by the Dutch collection historians Ellinoor Bergvelt and Debora Meijers and for the first time examines this institution in the context of scientific, museological, political, artistic, religious and philosophical developments. The key moment for the present collection was the decision in 1779 to freely interpret the will of its founder, the Mennonite entrepreneur Pieter Teyler van der Hulst (1702-1778): Inspired by the naturalist Martinus van Marum, the foundation board decided to build an impressive museum space and to establish a natural science collection. The institution thus entered an era in which older scientific and collecting traditions were combined with new developments towards a research institution and a public museum for natural history, physics and art.

On 28 May 2021, the Teylers Museum in Haarlem hosted the first meeting of the new network. An international meeting in St. Petersburg on the occasion of the 350th birthday of Peter the Great is being prepared for 2022.

About us

The Alliance of Early Universal Museums (AEUM), initiated jointly by the Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography, Kunstkamera (St. Petersburg, Russia), Franckesche Stiftungen, (Halle, Germany) and Teyler’s Museum (Haarlem, Netherlands), aims to revitalize the traditional values of universality, encyclopaedism and enlightenment in museum epistemology and practice.

Many early European museums – including the three AEUM founders – embody the matrix of a holistic approach that aimed to promote systematic knowledge and humanistic values as governing principles for research, publication and display.

Such universal museums, often coexisting with libraries, universities, or academies, embraced primarily the concept of Theatrum Mundi – the theatre of the world, the universe in a cabinet, the microcosm in the macrocosm – with the aim of pursuing a better understanding of mankind and its place in the (natural) world.

The Alliance aims to foster the spirit of universality, and to privilege the primacy of original material in authentic interiors and buildings. Present day debates about, for example inclusiveness and colonialism, invite a fresh and critical look at precisely this group of museums and their relevance for society today.

Cooperation between the present-day curators of these early universal museums will open up new research horizons based on long-established principles, providing keys to the study of museum histories, museological theories and the historical trajectories of collections and objects.

Old-established museums embody the functions of both preserving antiquarian and early scientific collections and of engendering new interests. The Alliance’s agenda foresees the sharing of research as well as exhibitions (both actual and virtual), for the general public and for specialized audiences.

The AEUM welcomes further institutional members and would be interested in contacting experts and researchers in our field of interest.

Speakers of the Alliance 2020/21

Teylers Museum, (Haarlem, Netherlands)
Dr. Marjan Scharloo

Franckesche Stiftungen (Halle, Germany)
Director Prof. Dr. Thomas Müller-Bahlke

Members

Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (the Kunstkamera) (St. Petersburg, Russian Federation)
Director Prof. Dr. Andrei Golovnev

Alliance of Early Universal Museums

Zum 25. Jubiläum der Wiedereröffnung der Kunst- und Naturalienkammer nach der Sanierung des Historischen Waisenhauses gründeten die Franckeschen Stiftungen am 13. Oktober 2020 gemeinsam mit dem Museum für Anthropologie und Ethnographie »Peter der Große« - Kunstkamera in St. Petersburg (Russland) und dem Teylers Museum in Haarlem (Niederlande)  und dem Wunderkammer-Experten Arthur MacGregor (Großbritannien) die »Alliance of Early Universal Museums«.

Die Idee zur Gründung der Allianz basiert auf dem Wissen, dass die frühmodernen Wunderkammern in Europa auf vielfältige Weise miteinander verbunden waren.
Ziel des Verbundes ist es, aktuelle Fragen des musealen Umgangs mit überlieferten Wunderkammern oder deren erhaltenen Bestandteilen, der Provenienzforschung sowie der Entwicklung von Zukunftsszenarien zu ihrer Erforschung und Präsentation in einem breit aufgestellten Fachgremium zu diskutieren und zu publizieren.

Kultureinrichtungen können heute das Band sein, das das Haus Europa im Inneren zusammenhält. Die Gründungsmitglieder aus Deutschland, Großbritannien, den Niederlanden und Russland wollen bewusst diesen Akzent setzen und das neue Netzwerk Schritt für Schritt erweitern.

Wir möchten Sie darauf hinweisen, dass Sie mit Aktivierung dieses Videos die Datenschutzerklärung von Youtube akzeptieren.

Das Mirakel der Wunderkammern. Europas wahre Aufklärung

Gründungsvortrag von Prof. Dr. Horst Bredekamp

Frühmoderne museale Sammlungen, häufig auch als Kunst- und Naturalienkammern oder Wunderkammern bezeichnet, sind ein typisches Phänomen der europäischen Kulturgeschichte. In sehr unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen gab es zahlreiche Sammlungen dieses Typus, von denen heute noch etliche vorhanden sind.

Jahresprogramme im Überblick

  • In der vierten Ausgabe 2020 der Zeitschrift »Kunstkamera«, hrsg. vom Museum für Anthropologie und Ethnographie Peter der Große in St. Petersburg, wurde die Gründung der Alliance veröffentlicht. Die Keynotes der Gründungsmitglieder finden Sie in der Präsentation online des Journals.
  • Im Brill Verlag (Leiden/Boston) erschien im Dezember 2020 ein umfangreicher Tagungsband zur Geschichte von Teyler’s Stiftung in Haarlem. Das interdisziplinär angelegte und aufwendig gestaltete Buch geht zurück auf eine internationale Tagung in Haarlem 2017. Es wurde herausgegeben von den niederländischen Sammlungshistorikerinnen Ellinoor Bergvelt und Debora Meijers und untersucht zum ersten Mal diese Institution im Kontext wissenschaftlicher, museologischer, politischer, künstlerischer, religiöser und philosophischer Entwicklungen. Schlüsselmoment für die heutige Sammlung war die Entscheidung im Jahr 1779, das Testament ihres Gründers, des mennonitischen Unternehmers Pieter Teyler van der Hulst (1702-1778), frei zu interpretieren: Angeregt durch den Naturforscher Martinus van Marum beschloss der Stiftungsrat, einen eindrucksvollen Museumsraum zu errichten und eine naturwissenschaftliche Sammlung aufzubauen. Damit trat die Institution in eine Epoche ein, in der sich ältere Wissenschafts- und Sammeltraditionen mit neuen Entwicklungen hin zu einer Forschungseinrichtung und einem öffentlichen Museum für Naturgeschichte, Physik und Kunst verbanden.

Am 28. Mai 2021 lud das Teylers Museum in Haarlem zur ersten Tagung des neuen Netzwerks ein. Eine internationale Tagung in St. Petersburg anlässlich des 350. Geburtstags Peters des Großen wird für das Jahr 2022 vorbereitet.

Organisation

Die Allianz der frühen Universalmuseen (AEUM), gemeinsam initiiert vom Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography, Kunstkamera (St. Petersburg, Russland), Franckesche Stiftungen, (Halle, Deutschland) und Teyler's Museum (Haarlem, Niederlande), zielt darauf ab, die traditionellen Werte der Universalität, Enzyklopädie und Aufklärung in der musealen Epistemologie und Praxis wiederzubeleben.

Viele frühe europäische Museen - darunter auch die drei AEUM-Gründer - verkörpern die Matrix eines ganzheitlichen Ansatzes, der darauf abzielte, systematisches Wissen und humanistische Werte als leitende Prinzipien für Forschung, Publikation und Ausstellung zu fördern.

Solche Universalmuseen, die oft mit Bibliotheken, Universitäten oder Akademien koexistierten, verfolgten vor allem das Konzept des Theatrum Mundi - des Theaters der Welt, des Universums in einem Kabinett, des Mikrokosmos im Makrokosmos - mit dem Ziel, ein besseres Verständnis des Menschen und seines Platzes in der (natürlichen) Welt zu erreichen.

Die Allianz will den Geist der Universalität fördern und das Primat des ursprünglichen Materials in authentischen Innenräumen und Gebäuden privilegieren. Heutige Debatten über z.B. Inklusion und Kolonialismus laden dazu ein, einen frischen und kritischen Blick auf genau diese Gruppe von Museen und ihre Relevanz für die heutige Gesellschaft zu werfen.

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den heutigen Kuratoren dieser frühen Universalmuseen wird neue Forschungshorizonte eröffnen, die auf altbewährten Prinzipien beruhen und Schlüssel zum Studium von Museumsgeschichten, museologischen Theorien und den historischen Trajektorien von Sammlungen und Objekten liefern.

Alteingesessene Museen verkörpern die Funktion, sowohl antiquarische und frühwissenschaftliche Sammlungen zu bewahren als auch neue Interessen zu wecken. Die Agenda der Allianz sieht den Austausch von Forschung sowie Ausstellungen (sowohl real als auch virtuell) vor, sowohl für die allgemeine Öffentlichkeit als auch für ein spezialisiertes Publikum.

Die Allianz AEUM begrüßt weitere institutionelle Mitglieder und wäre an Kontakten zu Experten und Forschern in unserem Interessengebiet interessiert.

SprecherInnen der Alliance 2020/21

Teylers Museum (Haarlem, Niederlande)
Direktorin Dr. Marjan Scharloo

Franckesche Stiftungen (Halle, Deutschland)
Direktor Professor Dr. Thomas Müller-Bahlke

Weitere Mitglieder
Museum für Anthropologie und Ethnographie Peter der Große - Kunstkamera (St. Petersburg, Russland)
Direktor Prof. Dr. Andrei Golovnev